For more information call 916/566-3405 X 37004 ask for Nancy or TomTop of Page
No experience needed. We offer a free training program that prepares you to become a substitute school bus driver.
You must be at least 18 years old, have no medical or physical limitations, have a clean driving record, and have or be eligible to obtain a minimum of a Class B drivers license with passenger and airbrake endorsements.
Do I Qualify
You must be at least 18 years old, have no medical or physical limitations. have a clean driving record, and have or be eligible to obtain a minimum of a Class B drivers license with Passenger and Airbrake endorsements.
A school bus driver typically works a split shift. The morning shift runs from about 6 AM to 9 AM. The afternoon from about 1:30 PM until 4:30 PM.
Twin Rivers currently guarantees a 6 hour day to permanent drivers, but many of our routes average about 7 hours a day.
Attend our orientation session - in our orientation we will review the certification process.
Minimum 20 ours classroom time on school bus laws and regulations.
Criminal background check (fingerprinting) with both our School District and the California Highway Patrol.
Pass a pre-employment drug test.
Pass a medical examination.
Commercial Driver License permit.
First aid training and certification.
Minimum 20 hours behind-the-wheel training in a school bus/
Pass written and driving tests administered by the California Highway Patrol.
Attendance at all classes is MANDATORY.
Enjoy driving and working with students.
Once all training is complete (2 - 4 months) Twin Rivers Unified School District may hire you as a Substitute School Bus Driver.
Cost for Certification
Pay / Benefits
Upcoming Bus Driver Training Classes Scheduled Top of Page